I’m suffering from lazy blogger syndrome

Admittedly I’ve been struggling to keep the pace with this blog recently.

I’d like to say it’s because I’ve been too busy, and although my dissertation has been taking up lots of of time, I’ve come to the conclusion that I like to think I’m busier than I actually am.

For all my dilligence, I somehow still find time to indulge my fair shair of fruitless activities, such as lying in bed till mid morning, devouring bottles of red wine, eating curry and watching 3 hour foreign films.

I suspect the real reason for my comparative lack of enthusiasm concerns a declining readership.  As any resonably sane person will tell you, It’s no fun speak to yourself – although in cognitive terms it’s pretty much essential – and it’s the same with blogging.

I first started this blog as part of the ‘PR and New media’ module on my MA and, with everyone posting / commenting weekly, it became a bit of blogging community. As far as I know – and I’m sorry if I’m mistaken – I’m the only one who has continued to blog, the upshot of which being that my posts are now only attracting sporadic random comments and spam.

Being heard amongst the cacaphony of blogs and tweets is perhaps the most difficult task facing most content creators in the online environment and it’s one that I’ve yet to master.

But excuses aside, I formally pledge to post and comment more frequently than I have been doing.

Two weeks from now, I can forget about education for the time being and devote more time to my next task; persuading someone to give me a job in a progressive, digitally minded PR consultancy. And to my knowledge, a well written blog is the most powerful tool in an unemployed PR graduates armoury.

Following Chris Norton’s advice, I’m going to give my blog a facelift and host it myself because frankly, despite my best efforts to make the best of the limited wordpress.com platform, it still looks rubbish.

Anyway, watch this space.

About Tom Craik

Senior Account Executive at Finn Communications, a PR and Word of Mouth agency based in Leeds. Baby face. Northern Monkey. Attention junkie. Space man. Fake tan. Dancefloor dreamer. Analyser. Deliberator. Wordsmith. Book worm. Head in clouds. Telecaster. Dance floor master. Closet rasta. Free love. Fresh jokes. Old gear. Naff beard. Existential. Influential. Left of centre. iPod. Math rock. Psych Folk. Dropping dubstep. Chicken Balti. Laos. Berlin. Bass bin. Circle pit. Guggenheim. Baltic. Cabernet. Globalised. Wired. No house. No car. Going places!
This entry was posted in careers/ employment, social media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m suffering from lazy blogger syndrome

  1. Paz says:

    i always read your blog tom, your not speaking to yourself i promise. now stop going out and blog. looking forward to your own hosting!

Leave a Reply

