Introducing…me!

Hello and welcome to my blog.

This first post is a bit of a  formality I know, but I thought it would be a bit rude to launch headlong into heated discussion without saying a few words about who I am and what the purpose of the blog is.

I’m Tom, a 22 year year old postgraduate student currently residing in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. I’m part way through completing an MA in Public Relations at Leeds Metropolitan University. Before this I studied English Language & Linguistics at Newcastle University before taking a year out to travel in China/ Southeast asia. For fear of this sounding like a personals ad I’m not going to talk about my personal interests, but if you want to know more take a look at the about me section.

I have just started my second semester studying PR and I’m surprised at how much knowledge I’ve picked up.  I don’t claim to be an expert in the field though and there is still lots to learn, especially in terms of applying my knowledge in practice. In the break between my studies I was lucky enough to spend some time at Green Communications, a small but well known communications consultancy in Wakefield. This gave me a sense of what life as a practitioner would be like and thankfully I really enjoyed myself. I was pleased with the impression I made and hope to go back when I next have free time. This semester I plan to find a part time in-house role in the public or voluntary sector to see what life is like on the other side.

I am starting this blog, along with my fellow students, as part of the ‘PR and New Media’ module on my course but I have other motives and expectations beyond getting a good mark in the assessment.  I’ve  followed blogs for a while now and have read numerous books extolling their virtues, so I needed little persuasion. To be honest, the module has been the catalyst I’d been waiting for to start my blog and it feels great to be finally starting.

I plan to make this the medium for expressing my thoughts on public relations, marketing, web 2.0 and all things communication related as I progress through the course and eventually make the transition from student to practitioner. I hope I can really stimulate some good old grassroots conversation and make contacts with likeminded individuals, improve my writing by posting on a regular basis and above all have  fun.

Anyway… I’m really banging on here so ill leave it at that for now. I’m going to try to work out how to use wordpress properly!

About Tom Craik

Senior Account Executive at Finn Communications, a PR and Word of Mouth agency based in Leeds. Baby face. Northern Monkey. Attention junkie. Space man. Fake tan. Dancefloor dreamer. Analyser. Deliberator. Wordsmith. Book worm. Head in clouds. Telecaster. Dance floor master. Closet rasta. Free love. Fresh jokes. Old gear. Naff beard. Existential. Influential. Left of centre. iPod. Math rock. Psych Folk. Dropping dubstep. Chicken Balti. Laos. Berlin. Bass bin. Circle pit. Guggenheim. Baltic. Cabernet. Globalised. Wired. No house. No car. Going places!
This entry was posted in About me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing…me!

  1. Amanda says:

    Baby steps 🙂

    …making a good start…

  2. mpr4wireless says:

    hey good one i bet you’ve got a lot to say…. great stuff!!!

Leave a Reply

